Lake McConaughy

Hello everyone!!

Last week was my last week in Nebraska..I know very sad! So to end the summer on a happy note my family took a weekend trip to Lake McConaughy. For those of you who don’t know, Lake McConaughy is out in west Nebraska.

rivsum

The lake is huge! Our room had a beautiful view of the lake. While there my family went paddle boarding for the first time. I was scared to stand up on the board at first because I am terrified of heights but after a while I was able to get up on the board and paddle around the lake. Latter that day we rented a tritoon boat. That was so much fun! My brother and I both went tubbing on it. I am proud to say that at the end of the weekend, I did not fall into the water!

Lake McConaughy is truly a beauty to be seen. The lake is 22 miles long and 4 miles wide with 100 miles of shoreline. The sand is so soft!! At different parts of the lake you can even find white sand. This lake is not like other lakes in Nebraska. Most lakes in the Husker state have a rocky-sand beach and the floor of the lake is covered in rocks making it painful to walk on. Not this lake. The beaches here are covered in a soft white sand, with the bottom of Big Mac (that’s another name for Lake McConaughy) just plain sand…no rocks!

Take a look at these pictures that I took, isn’t the view breathtaking?  I so badly wish I could be back there today.

IMG_3920IMG_3912

IMG_3928

This picture belongs on a postcard 🙂

I hope your summer ends on a good note!

From Nebraska to You,

♥ Janette

Leave a Reply

